Completed Works

Note: Dates indicate the first performance if the work was performed near the time of composition. Works that have not been performed are marked with an asterisk.

Cain* (ballet, 1930)
The Condemned* (choral opera, 1933)
From Marion’s Book: settings of seven poems by e.e. cummings (1962)
Invitation to Bitterness (chorus and piano, 1939)
King Lear: A Study
(1958; view a facsimile of the full score in the New York Philharmonic online archives.)
Parabola and Circula* (opera, 1929)
Reuben Reuben (musical, 1955)
Svarga, op. 1* (orchestral suite, 1925)

For further information on any of the above works, or any of Marc Blitzstein’s unfinished oeuvre, we recommend Howard Pollack’s detailed biography, Marc Blitzstein: His Life, His Work, His World (Oxford University Press, 2012) and Leonard Lehrman’s Marc Blitzstein: A Bio-Bibliography (Praeger Publishers, 2005). See also Resources.